DIY Makeup Brush Cleanser

Makeup brush cleansers are often way too expensive… Like seriously, what the heck?

This is not originally my idea, I got the idea from Michelle Phan’s old video. The link to her channel will be down below, BUT wait, read this first!

So my version is a bit more simple than the video I talked about. I have been cleaning my makeup brushes like this forever. It’s super easy and the best of all it’s cheap! And yes, you really do need to wash your makeup brushes every now and then. Do you realize how dirty they get? Obviously you wash your face before adding makeup (hopefully) but it’s never enough. And not washing your makeup brushes may cause some breakouts.

I recommend washing your foundation brush 3-6 times a week but the other ones you don’t have to wash so often.

I want to start by apologizing for the fact that the pictures are not very good… My Canon has something wrong with it and I just can’t wait for it to magically start working again so say hi to the mobile phone photos! Oh god…

So all you’ll need is

– Fairy (or any dish washing soap)

– Olive oil (The dish washing soap will dry out the bristle on it’s own so that’s why we need olive oil)

Aaaaand that’s it. I bet we all have these in our household.

Here are my Real Techniques buffing brush and contour brush. The buffing brush is not as dirty as it usually is since I actually cleaned it already yesterday.

Here’s a funny story: I ordered a four pack brush set because I really wanted the one for foundation and it was cheaper to order all four than just the one (They don’t sell these in store here in Finland). Well, the one I thought was a foundation brush was actually the buffing brush. But you know what? The buffing brush works just fine as a foundation brush. HAH!

So I just eyed the amount I used but I guess there’s a bit more soap than the olive oil. When I wash my foundation brush I put a bit more olive oil and when I wash a brush I use for powder-like products I put a lot more soap.

Put the brushes under lukewarm running water and gently rub the brush against your palm as longs as it takes to get rid of the foam and dirt.

And TADAA! Super easy, super cheap and super clean.

The last thing you have to do is to dry them with a towel and hang them somewhere like in the picture above. If you put them somewhere with the brush side up or side ways the water you couldn’t dry with the towel will drain to the roots and it will weaken the glue that holds the makeup brush bristle.

Thank you for reading

&

remember to follow me on

Instagram

Twitter

and

tumblr

Love, Pinja

+

Michelle’s channel

2 thoughts on “DIY Makeup Brush Cleanser

  1. brooksmakeup says:

    This is a great idea and I especially love the way you hang them up to dry afterwards! Definitely going to steak that tip! Thanks for sharing!

    Abi x
    http://www.brooksmakeup.wordpress.com

  2. Ah the hanger is an really good idea for getting them to dry! Stealing it haha 🙂 xxx great post!

Leave a Reply

